Kyiv Virtuosi in concert


Robert Samut Hall View map

On 17 June internationally acclaimed Ukrainian orchestra – Kyiv Virtuosi – will perform in Malta. The concert will be held at Robert Samut hall featuring world-famous soloist and conductor Dmitry Yablonsky.

Show more

Minimum Age


Ticket sales finished!

Ticket sales for Kyiv Virtuosi in concert unfortunately have now finished!


On Friday 17th June, the Kyiv Virtuosi Orchestra will take to the stage of the Robert Samut Hall in Floriana, led by Grammy-nominated conductor and cellist Dmitry Yablonsky, who shall also be simultaneously taking on the soloist role for the evening’s concert. Organised by the European Foundation for Support of Culture in collaboration with the Malta Philharmonic Orchestra, the programme will kick off with a rendition of Composer-in-Residence Alexey Shor’s Cello Concerto in F major, a flowing work in three movements which was first premiered in May 2021 by the internationally-acclaimed Alexander Knyazev. Exhibiting the rich orchestration and melodious tonality that Shor is known for, the work has quickly become one of the contemporary artist’s most popular pieces for the instrument, being performed in some of the most prestigious concert halls around the world, and winning plaudits from audiences and critics alike. Following this work, the Kyiv Virtuosi will then present a very interesting piece by Franz Schubert entitled Der Tod und das Mädchen ("Death and the Maiden''). Composed in 1817, the work has become one of the most famous examples of the lied form, which is essentially a poem set to classical music. In this case, the text behind the work is a short poem of the same name by the popular German poet Matthias Claudius, which details a meeting between the personification of death and a young maiden. Although this encounter leaves the girl terrified, the poem’s overall attitude towards death is a positive and optimistic one, characteristic of the literary treatment of death during this time period, and this is reflected in Schubert’s musical exploration of the work. Initially written for voice and piano, the orchestra will be presenting an orchestral, instrumental arrangement of the piece for this concert. 

Terms and Conditions

  • No refund on tickets will be made under any circumstances unless otherwise instructed by the event organiser. In the case of a refund being issued for tickets bought, refund will be issued on the Ticket face value, and ShowsHappening booking fee will NOT be refunded.
  • Venue Owner reserves the right without refund or compensation to refuse admission to any persons whose conduct is disorderly or unbecoming.
  • The Promoter may add, withdraw or substitute artistes and/or vary advertised programmes, event times, seating arrangements and audience capacity without prior notice.
  • The Promoter/Venue Owner may postpone, cancel,interrupt or stop the event due to adverse weather, dangerous situations, or any other causes beyond his reasonable control.
  • Information is collected from those registering with in order to facilitate ticket purchase or other services available. This information is collected and used in accordance with ShowsHappening's Privacy Policy, which forms part of these conditions.
  • In the event of an event being cancelled, postponed or unsatisfactory, or in the event that Buyer is not allowed to watch the event for any reason, SHOWSHAPPENING cannot be held responsible for any liability including any costs whatsoever incurred by the Buyer in connection with the said event.
  • It is your responsibility to check your tickets.

Event Organiser or Ticket Promoter?